More than once

Out in the country, I only had three neighbors that I knew as friends before kindergarten. Once I arrived, the best friends were already established and I was the odd one out. My neighbors were a year older or younger so I was on my own. Those kids were brutal. They made fun of me for wearing those polo shirts with the little alligator on the left side. They made fun of the way I sat in my chair. They even made fun of how long my hair was. When those first two days were over, everything was fine even though I was never fit in as well as I thought everyone else did with each other.

The summer after my 7th grade year my mom was pregnant and I over heard another parent at a baseball game say something about how my mother had no business having more kids. My first thought was What is it hurting you!?!?!. Later, upon reflecting on it, it was more like, I thought we Catholics were supposed to be judgmental. Then I remembered she was Catholic, too, and she had all rights to say what she thought about my family.

Finally, in my 10th grade year, I realized that I shouldn’t be so obvious about how correct I was about, well, everything. Chad sang “Little Miss Can’t Be Wrong” by the Spin Doctors to me after a discussion in class and I realized that I should present my ideas in a better way. One that doesn’t sound like it’s the only way.

And I look nothing like anyone in the video so I knew he must have been talking about more than superficial similarities.

Go ahead. Everyone's watching.

