Nightmares

I have one recurring nightmare that surprises me once in a while for many years now. The one where my mom dies in a kitchen fire and my eight siblings have to keep going without her amid school, sports, and aliens. Nightmares don’t always make sense, but it’s recurrence makes me wonder what I subconsciously worry about.

Do I fear being thrust into a situation I’m not ready for? Losing people I love? Invasion of my peaceful world? Even though this is a 20-year-old dream, it’s unhinged yet rational events come true in so many ways in real life I have to evaluate if I am addressing those problems now or simply ignoring them.

The problem is, in dreams, the tangible problems are usually easy to identify and target. Real life is more complicated and messy.

Go ahead. Everyone's watching.

